Being a Jew in a Non-Jewish World – Day 9

Hey guys,

How’s life been? I hope you are all having an amazing day, today.

The topic for today is being a Jew in a non-Jewish world. What I’m about to say is supposed to be light-hearted and I don’t mean to offend any of you reading this.

Since there are Jewish holidays all year ’round, my school district only took off days on the high holidays, such as Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur. But if Chanukah fell before winter break, we wouldn’t have it off. I understand this since most of the student population is not Jewish.

But this does mean that most people will say “Merry Christmas” instead of “Happy holidays”. I, personally, am not offended or aggravated by this in any way because they don’t know what religion I practice. At my high school, it was a very diverse place with people with relatives from around the world, so this didn’t happen very often; I was in a “bubble”, if you will.

Since the holidays are just a few days away, I thought I would share some of the things I do to get into the holiday spirit (this does include Christmas related stuff because I feel like Christmas is about family and loving one another):

1. Get some sweaters!

Sweaters are my favorite thing in autumn and winter, they’re just so warm and cozy.

2. Watch some Vlogmas on YouTube or just anything holiday related.

In my opinion, it’s fun to explore other people’s traditions around the holiday season, so have some fun with it.

3. Go shopping!

Buy some gifts for your family and friends. The only thing better than receiving a gift is giving one.

4. Decorate! Decorate! Decorate!

Spruce up your home with some fun lights and other fun decorations. It doesn’t have to be on the outside, just decorate.

5. Throw a holiday party or get together!

Have some fun with your friends. Do Secret Santa (or Secret Chanukah, as I like to call it) or White Elephant.

I hope you all have a great holiday season, happy holidays!

Girl lost, Girl found xxx

If you would like to have me talk about this more, leave a comment down below and I will make sure to write more in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

