Minimalism – Day 2

Hey guys,

Today, I’m going to talk about minimalism. This is something I really struggle with. I have this idea of my perfect world where everything is minimalistic, but in reality, my room is a little crowded (mostly from large furniture).

I am a sentimental person and I don’t like to let go of things unless it is little stuff like a fortune from a fortune cookie I had a long time ago. Just recently, I cleared out my Instagram, but I had to take screenshots of the old picture that I wanted to keep (I mean, it is a step forward, right?).

Sometimes, my sentimental-ness gets so bad to the point where I want my old self back or my childhood back. I think it might be that I’m not good with change too (I wrote a post about this earlier: https://secretblogr.wordpress.com/2016/12/04/197/ ).

I have this picture in my mind of a perfect world that I know will never come true. It consists of lots of white paint and minimal clutter. But, of course, I am a person who tends to make small clutters, just like my mom. It makes me feel at home.

I have heard of this was to get rid of things that takes after a tradition in (I think) Asia. It is where you throw away objects that have no meaning to you. For example: a piece of paper. But for me, everything has meaning, whether it is something I made as a child, such as a clay elephant, or something as simple as a slinky.

Everything has some meaning to me which is why I can’t fulfill this fantasy that I have.

Do you have anything that is super meaningful to you that you could never throw away? Are you a sentimental person like me? Are you a minimalist? Leave you answers down in the comments, I would love to read them! 🙂

Girl lost, Girl found xxx

Leave a Reply

