Music

Hey guys,

Sorry I didn’t post last week, life just got ahead of me and I couldn’t find any inspiration, but as long as I post, right? ….Right? Well here goes anyway.

I don’t remember the exact moment that this happened, there were many moments leading up to this, but it did happen eventually.

Picture this: a young 8th grade girl sitting on a tour bus, listening to music by herself, no one talking to her even though her best friends are sitting next to her. This was me. I’ve always felt like I never fit in, I know the cliche of the new girl finding friends and fitting in, but I’ve never really been the “new girl” and I’ve never moved houses. I guess I’ve just felt different, which is a good thing, don’t get me wrong, but it gets a little lonely. 

But this year, I’ve connected more with some of my friends (and made some new ones too). I’m in the musical, Les Miserables, and I have met more people who understand my love for music.

When I was younger, my mom got my brother and I, both, iPod Shuffles to listen to music on. And I think that is when it all started. Then when my brother was in 4th grade (I was in 1st grade), he started playing the violin as a part of school. I guess he really connected with it and he still plays it today.

When I was in 4th grade, I asked to try out the viola on the day everyone in my class was trying out instruments. I fell in love with it the minute I picked it up. Its like they say in Harry Potter, “You don’t choose the…” viola, “the…” viola “chooses you.” And now, many, many years later, I’m still playing the viola and I don’t regret it at all!

At my last concert, I was sitting next to one of my friends (who also plays viola) and on the last note, we just looked at each other and smiled a really big smile, from ear to ear (as they say).

At most concerts I play in, I always smile at some point because I’m having a ton of fun! But at my last community orchestra concert, I didn’t smile at all. The music was really easy and I wasn’t in the right orchestra. I wasn’t with any of my friends either, so that didn’t help. Even at school concerts, I still smile, not because the music is easy, but because I’m with my friends.

If you ever find out where I live and what orchestra I’m in, always look for the smiles.

Girl lost, Girl found xxx

 

Leave a Reply

